Welcoming Letters of  

 Krzyżowa-Music’s Patrons  

Message from Minister Jacek Czaputowicz to participants of the fifth edition of the Krzyżowa-Music Chamber Music Festival

Ladies and Gentlemen!

This is the third time when I am pleased to give honorary patronage to the annual International Chamber Music Festival ‘Krzyżowa-Music’. It is hosted and organised by the Krzyżowa Foundation for Mutual Understanding in Europe, which consistently reflects the philosophy of good neighbourly relations between Poland and Germany. I would like to thank the management and members of the Foundation for their contribution to building trust between Polish and German people.

Working with the youth and teaching them openness, as well as encouraging them to understand the surrounding world – these are the most important objectives of the Foundation. Young people arriving at Krzyżowa gain an opportunity to become acquainted with the multi-dimensional historical heritage of the site, including the activity of so-called Kreisau Circle, which was a group of people who opposed the criminal regime of the Third Reich and who were brave enough to outline the principles for the post-war order in Germany in the spirit of deeply Christian values.

The concept of reconciliation, Versöhnung, was very strong in mutual relations between our nations after World War 2. Against this backdrop, an aspect of paramount importance was the activity of ecumenical Action Reconciliation  and the cooperation of opposition organisations: the East German Initiative for Peace and Human Rights and the Polish Freedom and Peace, which I personally was a member of.

Apart from the letter of Polish bishops to German bishops of 1965, one of the most significant gestures of reconciliation and forgiveness that shaped the contemporary narrative in Polish-German relations was the Reconciliation Mass in Krzyżowa, celebrated in November 1989.

Today, Germany is one of Poland's most important partners. We cooperate closely as neighbours, partners in the European Union and allies within NATO. These relations are of fundamental significance for ensuring security and economic development of our countries. The importance of our contacts in recent years is reflected by the frequency of high-level meetings attended by the heads of governments and ministers for foreign affairs.

I would like to thank you for inviting me to the Festival and I wish you fruitful intergenerational and international cooperation, and the best of artistic sensations.

 

                                   Yours faithfully,

 

Jacek Czaputowicz

The Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Poland

#krzyzowamusic

© 2020 All rights reserved. Krzyżowa-Music. For Europe.

Grußworte der Schirmherren  

 von Krzyżowa-Music 

Grußworte des polnischen Außenministers Jacek Czaputowicz

an die Teilnehmer der sechsten Ausgabe des Kammermusikfestivals 

Krzyżowa-Music

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,

bereits zum dritten Mal habe ich das Vergnügen, die Ehrenschirmherrschaft über das jährliche Internationale Kammermusikfestival Kreisau-Musik zu übernehmen. Der Gastgeber und Organisator des Festivals ist die Stiftung Kreisau für Europäische Verständigung, welche sich konsequent in die Architektur der gutnachbarlichen polnisch-deutschen Beziehungen einfügt. Ich möchte mich bei der Leitung sowie den Mitgliedern der Stiftung für deren Beitrag zur Vertrauensbildung zwischen Polen und Deutschen bedanken.

Die Arbeit mit jungen Menschen, das Lehren von Offenheit sowie die Förderung des Verständnisses in Bezug auf die uns umgebende Welt sind die wichtigsten Tätigkeitszwecke der Stiftung. Die Jugend, welche nach Kreisau kommt, hat die Möglichkeit, das mehrdimensionale historische Erbe dieses Ortes kennenzulernen, einschließlich der Aktivität des sogenannten Kreisauer Kreises, einer Gruppe von Menschen, die sich dem verbrecherischen Regime des Dritten Reiches widersetzten und den Mut hatten, die Grundlagen der Ordnung des Nachkriegsdeutschlands im Geiste zutiefst christlicher Werte zu formulieren.

Das Motiv der Versöhnung war in den gegenseitigen Wechselbeziehungen zwischen unseren Nationen nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg sehr stark präsent. In diesem Zusammenhang war die Tätigkeit des ökumenischen Aktion Sühnezeichen und die Zusammenarbeit der oppositionellen Organisationen von Belang: der ostdeutschen „Initiative Frieden und Menschenrechte“ und der polnischen „Freiheit und Frieden“ (poln. Wolność i Pokój), an welcher ich selbst beteiligt war.

Zu den wichtigsten Gesten auf dem Weg zur Versöhnung und Vergebung, welche die gegenwärtige Narration in den deutsch-polnischen Beziehungen prägen, gehört – neben der Botschaft der polnischen Bischöfe an ihre deutschen Amtsbrüder aus dem Jahre 1965 – auch die Versöhnungsmesse in Kreisau, die im November 1989 gefeiert wurde.

Deutschland gehört heutzutage zu den wichtigsten Partnern Polens. Wir arbeiten als Nachbarn, Partner in der Europäischen Union und NATO-Verbündete eng zusammen. Diese Wechselbeziehungen sind für die Gewährleistung der Sicherheit und der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung unserer Länder von grundlegender Bedeutung. Von der Wichtigkeit unserer Kontakte in den letzten Jahren zeugt die Häufigkeit der Treffen auf höchster Ebene, zwischen Regierungschefs und Außenminister.

Ich bedanke mich für die Einladung zum Festival und wünsche Ihnen eine fruchtbare generationenüberschreitende und internationale Zusammenarbeit sowie ein Reichtum an künstlerische Erlebnissen und verbleibe.

                                  

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

 

Jacek Czaputowicz

Außenminister der Republik Polen

#krzyzowamusic

Tel: +48 74 85 00 200

info@krzyzowa-music.eu

© 2020 All rights reserved. Krzyżowa-Music. For Europe.