Welcoming Letters of  

 Krzyżowa-Music’s Patrons  

Message from Heiko Maas, Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs,
for the project Krzyżowa-Music: Music for Europe

The main venue of the Krzyżowa music festival is of great importance for German-Polish relations and the history of resistance against National Socialist tyranny. Last year, Germans and Poles joined together in Kreisau to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the Reconciliation Mass. The moving meeting on 12 November 1989 between the then Polish Prime Minister Tadeusz Masowiecki and former Chancellor Helmut Kohl is one of the most important symbols on the road to German-Polish reconciliation. The fact that a centre of culture and a meeting place for German, Polish and European young people has come into being here shows that reconciliation is possible over time.

The Krzyżowa-Music: Music for Europe festival is now entering its sixth season and is an established event in the German-Polish cultural calendar. A common cultural event sends an important signal especially in these difficult times when we have to tackle a pandemic and its economic and social impact together.

The Krzyżowa music festival is in very good hands at this place of European understanding. It underscores the essential values of solidarity, mutual trust and cooperation. Artists from numerous countries in Europe and overseas are once again working together musically in a spirit of international understanding. This close and trusting artistic cooperation is also an opportunity for exchanging views on current social and political issues.

As in 2019, we will commemorate historic events that have shaped our common history. The Second World War ended 75 years ago. Forty years ago, the free trade union Solidarność was founded in Poland, which had a profound impact on people’s desire for freedom in East Germany. Last but not least, we are also celebrating 30 years of German unity this year. These events are discussed and called to mind at many events at this meeting place in Kreisau in particular.

I was thus delighted to join my Polish counterpart Jacek Czaputowicz as patron of this project once again, one that unites people across borders.

Permit me to wish the Krzyżowa music festival every success also this year and to thank all participants and sponsors for their great commitment. I wish the audience a unifying musical experience together.

#krzyzowamusic

© 2020 All rights reserved. Krzyżowa-Music. For Europe.

Grußworte der Schirmherren  

 von Krzyżowa-Music 

Grußwort des Bundesministers des Auswärtigen, Heiko Maas,
für das Projekt „Musik aus Kreisau. Für Europa“

Für die deutsch-polnischen Beziehungen und die Geschichte des Widerstands gegen die nationalsozialistische deutsche Gewaltherrschaft hat der Hauptveranstaltungsort des Krzyżowa-Musikfestivals eine große Bedeutung. Im vergangenen Jahr konnten Deutsche und Polen in Kreisau gemeinsam den 30. Jahrestag der Versöhnungsmesse feiern. Das bewegende Treffen vom 12. November 1989 zwischen dem damaligen polnischen Ministerpräsidenten Tadeusz Masowiecki und dem ehemaligen Bundeskanzler Helmut Kohl ist eines der bedeutendsten Symbole auf dem Weg zur deutsch-polnischen Aussöhnung. Dass an diesem Ort ein Zentrum der Kultur und der Begegnung der deutschen, polnischen und der europäischen Jugend entstanden ist, zeigt, dass Versöhnung im Laufe der Zeit möglich sein kann.

Das Musikfestival „Musik aus Kreisau. Für Europa“ geht mittlerweile in die sechste Saison und ist ein etabliertes Ereignis im deutsch-polnischen Kulturkalender. Gerade in dieser schwierigen Zeit, in der wir zusammen eine Pandemie und ihre wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Folgen bewältigen müssen, setzt ein gemeinsames kulturelles Ereignis ein wichtiges Zeichen.

Das Krzyżowa-Musikfestival ist an diesem Ort der europäischen Verständigung sehr gut aufgehoben. Es unterstreicht die so wichtigen Werte der Solidarität, des gegenseitigen Vertrauens und der Zusammenarbeit. Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus zahlreichen Nationen Europas und Übersee arbeiten erneut musikalisch im Geiste der Völkerverständigung zusammen. Die enge und vertrauensvolle künstlerische Kooperation lässt auch Raum, sich über die aktuellen gesellschaftlichen und politischen Themen auszutauschen.

Wie 2019 gedenken wir auch in diesem Jahr der historischen Ereignisse, die unsere gemeinsame Geschichte bestimmt haben. Vor 75 Jahren endete der Zweite Weltkrieg. Vor 40 Jahren wurde in Polen die freie Gewerkschaft Solidarność gegründet, die großen Einfluss auf das Freiheitsbestreben der Menschen in Ostdeutschland hatte. Schließlich feiern wir dieses Jahr auch 30 Jahre Deutsche Einheit. Gerade in der Begegnungsstätte Kreisau werden diese Ereignisse in vielen Veranstaltungen diskutiert und gewürdigt.

 

Gern habe ich daher wieder gemeinsam mit meinem polnischen Amtskollegen Jacek Czaputowicz die Schirmherrschaft über dieses völkerverbindende Projekt übernommen.

Auch in diesem Jahr wünsche ich dem Krzyżowa-Musikfestival viel Erfolg und danke allen Mitwirkenden und allen Förderern für ihr großes Engagement. Dem Publikum wünsche ich ein verbindendes gemeinsames Musik-Erlebnis.

#krzyzowamusic

Tel: +48 74 85 00 200

info@krzyzowa-music.eu

© 2020 All rights reserved. Krzyżowa-Music. For Europe.